17 additional temples to enter Phase 2 of reopening; 3 additional temples to enter Phase 1

Today’s announcement of 17 temples moving to Phase 2 of the Church’s four-phased temple reopening plan is effective Aug. 17 and includes 10 temples in Utah, three elsewhere in the United States, three in Australia and one in Europe.

Also, three temples — two in Mexico and one in Europe — that have been closed since late March will reopen in Phase 1 for limited living husband-and-wife sealings.

The 17 temples to begin Phase 2 operations on Aug. 17 include:

  • Adelaide Australia Temple
  • Anchorage Alaska Temple
  • Bountiful Utah Temple
  • Brigham City Utah Temple
  • Brisbane Australia Tempe
  • Cedar City Utah Tempe
  • Logan Utah Temple
  • London England Temple
  • Nauvoo Illinois Temple
  • Medford Oregon Temple
  • Mount Timpanogos Temple
  • Ogden Utah Temple
  • Payson Utah Temple
  • Perth Australia Temple
  • Provo City Center Temple
  • Provo Utah Temple
  • Vernal Utah Temple

And the three temples reopening in Phase 1 on Aug. 17 include:

  • Bern Switzerland Temple
  • Oaxaca Mexico Temple
  • Tuxtla Gutiérrez Mexico Temple

Temples continue to reopen in a cautious, careful way, in four phases. Temples in Phase 1 and Phase 2 are operating on a limited basis, and with key precautions in place for temple workers and patrons, including: masks worn at all times, very limited numbers of patrons in the temple at a time, minimal staff in the temple, sanitization after each temple ceremony, careful social distancing and seating arrangements, and temperature checks at the entrance (for Phase 2).

This announcement includes many of the temples in Utah, though not all of them. As has been previously indicated, the reopening of each temple is considered based on local circumstances and governmental restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Temples in Utah are anticipated to be very busy, so priority will be given first to living persons who are to be sealed, next to missionaries currently serving in the field, and then to missionaries who are preparing to depart, based on their departure date.

With these temple announcements today, by August 17, 2020, 130 temples will have entered Phase 1, and 29 will have started Phase 2

Share Your Thought
Like and follow our Facebook page: LDSVoices [The Voice of Saints] for more insight.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy