Some Members Are Serving in 117th U.S. Congress

Nine Church members are part of the 117th United States Congress — including three members of the U.S. Senate and six in the House of Representatives, according to information from Pew Research Survey’s “Faith on the Hill” report looking at the religious composition of Congress.

It’s one fewer than two years ago in the 116th Congress and the lowest it’s been in the last decade, according to the report.

The lawmakers come from three states Arizona, Idaho, and Utah, and are all Republicans.

The report notes that these nine lawmakers make up 1.7% of Congress, which is similar to the 2% of the U.S. population who are members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

U.S. Senate

The three Latter-day Senators are Sen. Mike Crapo, R-Idaho; Sen. Mike Lee, R-Utah, and Sen. Mitt Romney, R-Utah.

U.S. House of Representatives

The Latter-day Saint members of the U.S. House of Representatives are Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Arizona; Rep. John Curtis, R-Utah; Rep. Blake Moore, R-Utah; Rep. Burgess Owens, R-Utah; Rep. Mike Simpson, R-Idaho; and Rep. Chris Stewart, R-Utah.


Share Your Thought
Like and follow our Facebook page: LDSVoices [The Voice of Saints] for more insight.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy